RAS Korea was born in June 1900 as a branch of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland. RAS Korea has been meeting and growing ever since, only ceasing to function during the Pacific War (1941-5) and the Korean War (1950-3).

Today RAS Korea has several hundred active members in Korea and more lifetime and overseas members worldwide. Its activities are focused on a regular program of lectures and cultural excursions, as well as special interest groups and books, including the annual journal Transactions. Membership is affordable and the community is welcoming!

Read more about the early years of the RAS Korea, or the RAS Korea’s first century.
‘The Early Years of RAS Korea: 1900 – 1920’ written by Brother Anthony of Taizé
‘The First One Hundred Years of RAS Korea: 1900 – 2000 written by Horace G. Underwood, Litt D.

The Emblem of Royal Asiatic Society Korea

The emblem of Royal Asiatic Society Korea expresses its purpose through Chinese characters: 槿  (top right),   (bottom right),   (top left),   (bottom left), pronounced Kŭn Yŏk Ch’ŏng A (Geun Yeok Cheong A). The first two characters mean “the hibiscus region,” referring to Korea, while the other two are “scholarly education.” We might say, then, “Promote Scholarly Studies of Korea.”


Brother Anthony, President (email: ansonjae@sogang.ac.kr)
Suzanne Crowder Han, Vice-President
Steven L. Shields, Vice-President
Hank Morris, Treasurer
Yonjoo Hong, Secretary

Directions to RASKB

The office is located in room 611 of the Korea Christian Building (한국 기독교 회관), at 136-46, Yeonji-dong, Jongno-gu, Seoul, Korea.

If coming by subway, take Seoul Metro Line 1 to Jongno 5-ga Station (#129). Proceed out exit 2 and continue walking north 100 meters.

If planning to visit the office or library, it is recommended to make an appointment ahead of time.

Phone (02) 763-9483
Fax (02) 766-3796
Email: royalasiatickorea@gmail.com

Other RAS Associations